What the School Safety Agent test looks like
New York City Police Department, School Safety Division / DCAS · Exam No. 7323 · facts last checked August 2, 2026
Notice of Examination 7323 names nine abilities, defines each, and gives a worked example of where the job uses it. It does not state how many questions the paper has, how long it runs, or how the nine areas are weighted.
Those nine are the same set the Police Officer notice tests. That fact is worth more than it first appears: the two exams measure identical constructs and differ in job context and entry bar, which means preparation for one is largely preparation for the other.
The mechanics the notice states
The test is multiple choice, taken at a computer terminal, with 70% as the minimum passing score. Testing for Exam 7323 is expected to begin on 20 October 2026.
Your score determines your ranking on the eligible list. That ranking, not the pass itself, is what decides how long you wait to be reached — so the difference between a bare pass and a strong score is measured in years of waiting rather than in a certificate.
The nine abilities
Seven of them are the set Traffic Enforcement Agent also tests: deductive reasoning, information ordering, memorization, problem sensitivity, spatial orientation, written comprehension and written expression.
School Safety Agent adds two. Inductive reasoning is combining separate pieces of information to reach a general conclusion — the direction of travel opposite to deductive reasoning, which applies a general rule to a specific case. Visualization is picturing how something looks when it is moved, rotated or rearranged.
The notice illustrates each with the job. Memorization is shown through remembering the location of persons or items; spatial orientation through working out the quickest way to reach an incident in progress. Those examples are the part of the notice worth rereading, because they show what the construct looks like once it has been turned into a question.
Electronic devices, and what happens if you bring one
Calculators are not permitted on this exam. Neither is any other electronic device: phones, smart watches, cameras and earbuds are sealed in a magnetic pouch for the duration of the exam event.
The consequence stated in the notice is severe and worth reading twice. Using a device can nullify your score and bar you from civil-service tests for up to five years. That is not a warning about this one exam — it is a bar on the whole system, from a single lapse of attention in a corridor.
Candidates who are also filing for Traffic Enforcement Agent should note the contrast: that notice permits a basic four-function calculator. The rule follows the exam, not the candidate.
Why this is effectively the Police Officer test
The ability list on Notice 7323 matches the one on the Police Officer notice item for item. The constructs are identical; the worked examples are drawn from different jobs.
What separates the two for a candidate is the entry bar rather than the material. Police Officer additionally requires 24 college credits or two years of military service. School Safety Agent requires a four-year high school diploma and nothing else. For anyone considering both, the exam preparation transfers almost entirely and the eligibility question is the one to settle first.
What is not published, and how to treat it
Question count, running time, section structure and per-ability weighting do not appear in the notice. Neither does any past form of the paper. A source stating those figures is not quoting DCAS.
Where our practice papers use a length or a structure, it is one we have documented as ours. The point is to make pacing realistic enough to rehearse, not to imply knowledge of a form that has not been made public.
Prepare for exam 7323
A free diagnostic across all 9 ability areas tells you which of the 9 areas is costing you rank, so you drill the weak one instead of the comfortable one.
Questions candidates ask
How many questions are on the School Safety Agent exam?
Notice of Examination 7323 does not state a question count, and no one outside DCAS can state one honestly. It states that the test is multiple choice, computer-based, and that 70% is the minimum passing score.
Can you use a calculator on the School Safety Agent test?
No. Calculators are not permitted, and no other electronic device is either. Phones, smart watches, cameras and earbuds are sealed in a magnetic pouch for the exam event, and using one can nullify your score and bar you from civil-service exams for up to five years.
What abilities does the School Safety Agent exam test?
Nine: deductive reasoning, inductive reasoning, information ordering, memorization, problem sensitivity, spatial orientation, visualization, written comprehension and written expression. Each is defined in the notice with a job-specific example.
Is the School Safety Agent test the same as the Police Officer test?
The ability list is the same nine constructs, with examples drawn from different jobs. The exams themselves are separate, with separate notices, dates and eligible lists. The practical difference between the two titles is the entry bar: Police Officer also requires 24 college credits or two years of military service.
What score do you need to pass the School Safety Agent exam?
70% is the minimum passing score. Because your final score sets your list number, and the list number determines when you are reached, scoring well above the minimum is what shortens the wait.
When is the School Safety Agent test in 2026?
Testing for Exam 7323 is expected to begin 20 October 2026, with a filing period of 1 July to 25 August 2026. Three further filing periods appear on the DCAS annual schedule, opening 7 October 2026, 6 January 2027 and 7 April 2027.
Where these facts come from
Every figure on this page comes from the documents below, each with the date we last opened it. Where a notice is the authority, it wins over anything written here.
- DCAS Notice of Examination — School Safety Agent, Exam No. 7323 (PDF)
Checked August 2, 2026.
- DCAS — Take an Exam (official filing schedule)
Checked August 2, 2026.
- New York Civil Service Law § 61 — selection from an eligible list
Checked August 2, 2026.
Keep reading
The full School Safety exam guide
Dates, the 9 ability areas, eligibility, scoring and pay in one place.
NYC School Safety Agent Salary (2026)
School Safety Agent pay starts at $40,480 and rises to $58,345 after five years in the title, per Notice of Examination 7323.
NYC School Safety Agent Requirements (2026)
A four-year high school diploma is the whole education requirement for School Safety Agent exam 7323.
NYC School Safety Agent Hiring Process After the Exam
What happens after School Safety Agent exam 7323: your list number, the one-in-three appointment rule, the NYPD background check, the qualifying physical test, and why a passing score is not an offer..
What Does a NYC School Safety Agent Do?
School Safety Agents are NYPD employees posted into Department of Education buildings.